top of page

Interview - Dream Unending: Derrick Vella on Tide Turns Eternal


Dream Unending is a new band formed by Death metal pioneers Derrick Vella from Tomb Mold and Outer Heaven and Justin DeTore from Unnumerable Forms. Their debut album is out now on 20 Buck Spin Records and I've asked Derrick some questions about the new album.


How and when did you come up with the band name? Were there other band names that crossed your minds?

It came organically from the poem from the title track (Dream Unending), I thought it had a nice ring, sort of encompasses what the band is about. The name lends some mystery as opposed to dread. We never considered any other name too seriously.


You never saw your friend Justin in the flesh while recording. Did that have any advantages or disadvantages?

I think the advantages were that I had a lot of space and time to dwell and work on sections of each song at my own pace, which at times was quick and sometimes slower. Justin would still hear different iterations of each song as they grew. The disadvantage was that it was sort of lonely. I’ve never had a discussion with him in real life about how pleased we are with the record. Those sort of celebratory moments, we couldn’t have those with each other.


Obviously, Robin Guthrie of Cocteau Twins has a great influence on your guitarwork and your approach to sound, when and how did this fascination all start? And what did he do, sound and guitar-wise, that you use when you make music?

I always found his sounds didn’t sound real, or rather he plays these very simplistic passages but they are heavily processed and modulated by his gear that it sounds otherworldly. I wanted to capture some of that essence. I got turned on to the Cocteau twins when I was 18 or so, just by extension of exploring new wave and goth music. The combination of his sound with Liz Fraser’s angelic voice is one for the ages. They knew how to be simultaneously beautiful and eerie.


What kind of pedals did you use on Tide Turns Eternal?

I leaned especially heavy on the “Nightsky” by Strymon for all of the clean guitars. It added such nice layers to fill out the sound and I loved how the shimmer responded to single notes and drawn out chords. We also used the “MOOD” by Chase Bliss, as well as the Paul Gilbert Airplane flanger, some phase 90, the “Andromeda” delay by Seymour Duncan that died after recording (I’ve since switched to the DIG by Strymon and its worlds better), and some chorus sounds courtesy of the Viper by Lonewolf audio. Some of the overdriven guitars are played through a JCM800 with a Friedman BE-OD pedal in front. Perfect combo if you want to dial in that Jerry Cantrell tone.



What kind of references did you give artist Matthew Jaffre?

I sent him the lyrics, and the music as much as I could but I also steered him in the direction of the dream sequence from “Kagemusha”, and that helped set a tone as well as a colour palate.


Which Anathema song has influenced Tide Turns Eternal the most and why?

“We the Gods” I would say. I think the structure, the power and the emotional pull it has. I wish I could say something off Judgement was the most, but maybe it will be for the next record.




How did you encounter Richard Poe and what did you or Justin say to him when you pitched your idea?

I knew about Richard from audiobooks and star trek episodes he was on. Great voice. I emailed him through his website and heard back later that night. He was intrigued by the idea and he was a great sport about it. Prior to Poe, I had tried contacting Paul Buchanan from The Blue Nile but I hit too many firewalls of publicists/managers so I doubt it ever reached his desk. His loss really.


What can you tell me about Star Trek: Next Generation episode Darmok and its influence on this album/the band?

That episode mostly became an inside joke between Justin and me. It's a favourite episode for both of us, so we would constantly reference lines from that episode but I think there's a poetic tinge to that episode that we are both drawn to. It just sort of sticks with us.


Who does the female vocals on the title track, and can we hear more from her?

Her name is McKenna Rae and searching her name should point you in the right direction. Great talent, greater person.


How much music do you have left for album #2?

I would say we’re 95% there.



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page