top of page

Top 8 albums of 2021


The reason why I started this new website, was because the old one looked kind of outdated. The new one gave me the confidence to start writing again. Writing about music gives me the chance to figure out what's going on in my head, and for me, that's interesting and therapeutic. Clearly, there is something that's holding me down and keeps me away from what I really want or need. I have to figure that out myself, and music has been a great helper. So below you'll find my list of 2021's best albums. Listen to their music, buy their merch and follow them on social media so you'll know when they play near you.


#1: LLNN - Unmaker


What can I say? LLNN's Unmaker was the album that soundtracked 2021 for me. Claustrophobic, oxygenless with hints of small sparks of starlight that bring hope. Thanks to Pelagic Records for giving me the chance to interview Ketil about the new record.


#2: Iotunn - Access All Worlds


A more hopeful album than LLNN's Unmaker is Access All Worlds by Danish prog metal band Iotunn. Powerful prog metal with great vocals from Jón Aldará from Hamferð and great artwork from Eliran Kantor .


#3: Vouna - Atropos


Vouna's Atropos is an album that helped me cope with a death in the family. I will never forget this record. Ever.


#4: Sanguisugabogg - Tortured Whole


Sanguisugabogg are just these guys that want to have a good time while making brutal death metal. On Tortured Whole they sound like they're really having fun.


#5: Fluisteraars - Gegrepen Door De Geest der Zielsontluiking


The Dutch black metal scene is stirring and Fluisteraars from the province of Gelderland are one of those bands that are at the forefront of this black wave from the Netherlands. Gegrepen Door de Geest Der Zielsontluiking which translates to Grasped By The Spirit of Soul Anthesis, is black metal the Dutch way. And it's really good.


#6: Wheel - Preserved In Time


Wheel surprised me with their epic doom. Preserved In Time is headbanging doom, with great vocals and compelling riffs.


#7: Dream Unending - Tide Turns Eternal



Dream Unending's Tide Turns Eternal is such a great album. This crystal clear guitar sound and these growls from the depths really compliment each other and make this record one of the most original records I heard this year.


#8 Sarke - Allsighr

Sarke surprised me with Allsighr. On the surface, it seems that they play simple metal, but it takes a lot of experience to write songs like Bleak Reflections or Through The Thorns.


Honourable mentions:


  • Turnstile - Glow On

MYSTERY might be my favourite track of the year, and all the singles were fantastic!

  • Koldovstvo - Ni Tsarya, Ni Boga

This mysterious black metal one man/woman/other project creates this atmospheric black metal that sounds like ancient haunted ruins. Watch out Roadburn 2022....


Before you click away I want to thank you for reading my reviews and my other stuff. It feels good to write and I should do it more often. I want to, but sometimes I get consumed by time, thoughts and other things that drive me slowly crazy. If you need a talk, or you just want to spill your guts about my bad use of grammar, just message me on Instagram or use this link.


I'LL BE BACK IN 2022!


Thanks!



Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page